top of page

Preparing to start external beam radiation therapy (EBRT) for my prostate cancer

As I prepare to start external beam radiation therapy (EBRT) for my prostate cancer, I have mixed feelings about this significant step in my treatment journey. Having managed my stage 4 cancer for nearly five years with natural remedies, medicines, exercise, and some hormone therapy, the shift to a more aggressive form of treatment such as EBRT marks a pivotal moment.

The potential effectiveness of EBRT, based on what I’ve read, is encouraging. For localized or locally advanced prostate cancer, which has been my diagnosis, EBRT can target and destroy cancer cells within the prostate gland effectively, promising high rates of disease control and long-term survival. This information provides a beacon of hope as I navigate the uncertainties of this treatment.

However, there’s a certain apprehension about the side effects, such as fatigue, urinary and bowel changes, and particularly erectile dysfunction. Learning that newer techniques like intensity-modulated radiation therapy (IMRT) and image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT) have been developed to minimize these side effects is somewhat reassuring. These advancements suggest a reduced risk of side effects while enhancing treatment outcomes, which is a significant consideration for me.

The decision to pursue EBRT wasn't taken lightly. It was made in close consultation with my healthcare team, weighing my cancer’s stage and aggressiveness against my overall health and treatment preferences. As I stand on the threshold of starting EBRT, I am hopeful yet cautious, trusting in the expertise of my medical team and the resilience I’ve built over years of managing my condition. This new phase of treatment is a major step, one that I hadn’t anticipated taking, yet it’s where my journey has led me. Now, more than ever, I am committed to fighting for my health with every resource available.


My approach to managing cancer has been grounded in a holistic and metabolic focus, complemented by a rigorous daily fitness regime. This lifestyle has not only fortified my physical health but also positioned me to potentially enhance the effectiveness of the EBRT and mitigate its side effects.

I have dedicated myself to a regimen that prioritises natural remedies and strict dietary guidelines aimed at optimizing my body's metabolic processes. This approach is based on the principle that a well-nourished, well-functioning metabolic system can better withstand the rigors of cancer treatments and possibly inhibit cancer growth by altering the environment that cancer cells need to thrive.

In addition to my dietary efforts, my daily fitness regime has been a cornerstone of my overall health strategy. Regular exercise has been shown to improve cardiovascular health, boost immune function, and increase overall energy levels. These benefits are crucial as they may not only enhance my body's ability to tolerate and respond to radiation therapy but also help in quicker recovery from any potential side effects like fatigue and muscle weakness.

By maintaining this disciplined lifestyle, I hope to create the best possible conditions for my body to respond to EBRT. My medical team has been supportive of my integrated approach, acknowledging the potential for a stronger, more resilient body to cope with treatment and recover with greater agility. As I begin this new treatment phase, I remain committed to my metabolic and fitness practices, trusting that they will contribute positively to my treatment outcomes.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page